Please activate JavaScript in your browser to use all interface options.

« January, 2024
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
Main page News room News

Chairman of the Rosneft Management Board Awards Laureates of the Global Energy Prize

19 June 2015

Chairman of Rosneft Management Board, Executive Secretary of Russia’s Presidential Commission on Strategic Development of the Fuel and Energy Sector and Ecological Safety Igor Sechin awarded laureates of the international Global Energy Prize at the St. Petersburg Economic Forum performing the instruction of the Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Professor Jayant Baliga became the Prize Laureate of 2015 with invention, development and commercialization of an insulated gate bipolar transistor which is one of the most important innovations in the area of energy management and distribution. Nobel Prize winner in Physics Shuji Nakamura also received the Prize for his invention, development and commercialization of the energy efficient white LED lighting.

In his speech, Igor Sechin said: “The Global Energy Prize is a new millennium award. It is presented for the unique achievements in the energy area and for scientific ideas that were not left to be theoretical, but got practical implementation. They already serve people. The discoveries of these outstanding scientists provided a new look for many conventional approaches and views that seemed to be irreversible. These are really global ideas because they concern for everyone. And they really change the world. So they fully comply with the concept of "Global Energy".


Notes for editors:

The international Global Energy Prize has been awarded since 2003 in Russia for outstanding scientific research and technological development in the energy sector. It has been presented to famous Russian scientists such as Nobel Prize winner Zhores Alferov, academicians Gennady Mesyats, Oleg Favorsky, Philip Rutberg. Scientists from the US, Germany, Japan, Canada, the UK and Iceland were also the Prize laureates.

Last year the Prize laureates were Academician Ashot Sarkisov and Swedish scientist Lars Larsen. They were honored for their outstanding contribution to safety enhancement in nuclear power and nuclear facilities decommissioning.

Rosneft Information Division
Tel.: + 7 (499) 517-88-97
June 19, 2015