Please activate JavaScript in your browser to use all interface options.

« March, 2024
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
Main page News room News

Rosneft President Igor Sechin presents Global Energy award to international prize winners

21 June 2012

Rosneft President and Chairman of the Management Board Igor Sechin who is also Executive Secretary of the Commission on Strategic Development of the Energy Sector has presided over a Global Energy international prize award ceremony on behalf of Russian President Vladimir Putin. The ceremony took place today at the St Petersburg International Economic Forum.

The 2012 awards were won by academics Boris Katorgin, Valery Kostyuk as well as British scholar Rodney John Allam.

"On behalf of Russian President Vladimir Putin it is a great honour for me to congratulate the winners of the Global Energy prize and to convey to you his words of deep gratitude for your selfless work for the benefit of present and future generations as well as to wish you every success," Sechin said. The head of Rosneft stressed that Katorgin is a worthy successor to the first Russian conquerors of space. Power plants developed by Katorgin are used not only in Russian but also in US spacecraft and are recognized by many as the best in the world.

Russian electrophysicist and electric power expert Katorgin was awarded a prize for the research and development of highly efficient liquid fuel rocket engines using cryogenic fuel and oxidizers as well as cryostating systems and superconductor devices.

Chemical Engineering specialist Rodney Allam and Valery Kostyuk, an expert in the field of fluid dynamics and heat transfer in cryogenic and aerospace technologies, received the award for developing new processes and equipment for the production of gases and cryogenic liquids as well as for developing technologies for applying these gases.

This year’s prize fund totalled 33 million rubles.

In the 10 years since the Global Energy was launched it has been awarded to scientists from the UK, Germany, Iceland, Canada, Russia, USA, Ukraine, France and Japan. Overall, 27 people have won the award since 2003.

Rosneft Information Division June 21, 2012